Tags

, , ,

I love Mayonnaise, it seems to be the perfect food for almost everything. When a food doesn’t seem right on my plate, I add a little Mayo and everything is right with the world. Please don’t think I’m talking about helmans, because that boat has passed. Once you make homemade mayonnaise you will never go back. It honestly takes less time to make mayo then it does to go and buy it! This is how I make mayo and it’s based on Against All Grain‘s recipe.

  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp Dijon
  • 3/4 oil

Put the egg yolk, lemon juice, vinegar, salt and dijon in a container. Using a whisk or what I use, an immersion blender with a whisk attachment. Slowly, slowly, slowly start pouring in your oil. You want that oil to really emulsify with the rest of your ingredients.  Here’s the video I did on mayo so you can see how fast it comes together!

Now a word about vinegar and oils! I use apple cider vinegar, you can use any vinegar you love. Well maybe not balsamic, but hey if that floats your boat give it a whirl! Oil; I use a light tasting olive oil, if using olive oil only use this kind otherwise your mayo will taste like olives and that just ain’t cool! Try garlic infused oil or chili pepper oil, those would be divine!

So if I say mayo and you say aioli, what the heck is aioli?!

Aioli starts it’s life with a mortar and pestle. You use your muscles to pound some garlic to a paste. Then add it to the mayo ingredients and emulsify! So yea, mayo!

There is such joy I get out of making something so simple. I bought mayo for years and years. Quite happy eating juicy sloppy mayo sandwiches. Then during a whole30 I needed mayo with no sugar, so I tried my hand and made some. Game over! I’ll never go back! EVER! Even my kids eat real mayo.Such satisfaction comes when the oil becomes friends with all the other ingredients and they blend together and come out with the most glorious cream fluff ever imaginable. That my friends right there is foodie heaven. I love mayo, almost as much as I love butter! Almost!

