Tags

, , , ,

Oooh I love pancakes, crepes too for that matter. I’m talking sweet today, not savoury. My easy pancake recipe goes from pancake to crepe very simply. My family mostly eats their pancakes with maple syrup, ooodles and ooodles of syrup. Crepes are a whole different story! We put jam or nutella on them, lemon juice and sugar, or a very thin line of maple syrup. Crepes are one of those magical foods that can do anything to and add anything too. The combinations are only limited by your imagination!

Pancakes, I learned this recipe while living in the UK. So I have weight measurements for you and what the North american translation is!

  • 220 grams of flour, or about a heaping cup
  • 1 tbsp of sugar (I have added maple syrup instead when I’m out of sugar)
  • 1 tsp of salt 
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 410 ML of milk, which is about 1 1/2 cup
  • 2 tbsp of melted butter

In a bowl of your choosing (I love using my bowl with the spout for easy pour) combine the flour, sugar salt and baking powder. I add the eggs next, as the milk I do slowly. When I add my milk, I never dump the whole thing in. You want this mix to feel like heavy cream. If you dump in all the milk and it feels thin; it’s okay, just add more flour. Once that’s mixed, but not over mixed. Whisk while you pour in your melted butter. Voila! pancakes. Pour on a hot pan or griddle that has been well-greased (probably used for melting your butter!) pour a little batter in the pan, wait for bubbles and flip. You can’t go wrong with a stack of pancakes; so if you can wait, pile those bad boys up on a heat proof tray cover slightly (with tin foil) and place in a warming drawer or on the lowest heat setting on your oven. When done you can have a mound of pancakes to pour your sweet maple syrup over!

Crepes-use the above recipe with a couple of minor changes.

  • Instead of a heaping cup of flour. Just use a cup of flour
  • 1 tbsp of sugar (I have added maple syrup instead when I’m out of sugar)
  • 1 tsp of salt 
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • About 2 cups of milk
  • 2 tbsp of melted butter

Again; in a bowl of your choosing mix the flour, salt, and baking powder together. Eggs. Then Milk. You want this thin, soupy like. Then whisk in the butter. This should be slightly heavier than milk. If it’s headed toward cream consistency you need more milk! Now using a small pan, get it hot and buttery (again, just melt your butter in it) put a decent ladle full in the pan and slowly by picking up the pan and swirling it. Spread that batter out to a nice decent size and thinness. It won’t take long, the edges should brown a little. Flip for a few minutes and your crepes are done! Because these don’t take long to cook. I just stack them up and lightly cover so we can all eat and enjoy at the same time. These save well too, so IF there is left overs you can enjoy them another day!

I realize that the process for crepes seems a little strange and probably worded completely wrong. If you want to see a video on the process let me know!

How do you like your pancakes and crepes? Have you heard of crepe cake? it’s totally a thing! Stay tuned, we’ll get into savoury crepes soon!

No pics today lovelies! I’m on the way to the cottage and well, who can get pictures when you’re on the road?! But I will leave you with this lovely Parisian phrase in the spirit of crepes!

