Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

When we were eating lunch at Matt’s in the Market we of coursed asked where would be a great dinner spot. Although many were given; we decided to go with another restaurant on my radar, How to Cook a Wolf. Located in the Queen Anne neighbourhood of Seattle, you’re going to have to use your eyes for the small sign when you arrive. Beautifully laid out with warm wood adorning the walls. Seating is snug, but comfortable. You’ll be greeted by the kitchen staff, as you walk in almost right upon them. I can’t comment on the day time atmosphere, but the night is dimly lit with just the right amount of romance. Most menu items are for sharing  and even the ones that are not, can be requested to share. Hubs and I settled on; Roasted Lollipop Kale (as recommended by the amazing waiter), Charred Apple Bruschetta, Crispy Duck Leg and Gnocchi.

The Kale was outstanding. I’m not a big kale fan, but this! Even the stem was edible; perfectly cooked without over powering seasonings. Salty, without puckering your lips. No bitter aftertaste and easy to chew. I’ve been dreaming about it ever since! Great recommendation!
Charred Apple Bruschetta. Well this, this is creativity at it’s best! This is not your average bruschetta. Apples, onions, creamy goat cheese, pear butter. It was good. Hubs liked it a bit more than I did. Maybe it was the apple? I was really appreciative of the thought that went into this, moimagere then I appreciated the taste. I think. I love when a chef and a kitchen can think outside of the box and creative something that no one has thought of yet. I have not seen a bruschetta any where that didn’t include tomato someplace. So if you enjoy cooked fruit; not in a dessert, then you’re sure to enjoy this! I actually think I would try this again, near the end of the meal. As a palette cleanser and as a sweet treat.

 

 

 

 

image

Crispy Duck leg and Gnocchi. Not sure where the Gnocchi picture went, but it’s vanished into memory alone! This to me, is where dinner went from okay, to BLAH. Again, the creativity in the dishes was brilliant. I applaud the effort that went into the preparation and execution of these meals. Lets start with the duck. It’s was cooked to perfection. It was crispy but maintained all juicy qualities. The pumpkin puree with the duck was amazing. They came together with such a tasteful marriage. Then there was the green salad on the side. Which was spicy (not hot, just hit your palette spice) and minty which was a strange match up that lingered on your tongue too long; and farro, just hanging out mixed in the greens, hoping to not get noticed. Well I noticed, it was delicious. A tweak to that green salad and more farro, this dish would have been a star in the dim light!

Gnocchi. I love gnocchi. I really do. When ever I get the opportunity to eat a gnocchi meal, I jump at it. Well this was just a creamy let down. Really. No colour, no pizzazz, just beige. It felt padded with cream and butter to appear elegant, when in reality it hits with heart burn at the end. It was heavy with not much flavour. They could have done so much more to bump it up. Like seeing your name on a big box under the Christmas tree; when you open it, you find socks. It was so sad. Gnocchi is one of those simplistic elements that can hit stars when you pair it well. I guess I should have known; White Bolognese, Celery Root, Parsnips, Grana Padano. It’s beige at its best.

At this point, we could and would have gone on to dessert. However feeling so heavy from gnocchi. We just wanted to get our fat pants on and pass out. The highlights of this place is definitely the creativity, even the name is amazing! The staff is warm and our waiter (which after a bottle of red and too heavy gnocchi his name escapes me) was just a wealth of energy and light. He really presented each course to us like we were royalty. Also great recommendation for the kale! The atmosphere invites a deep breath and an enjoyment to each course.  The menu is small and not confusing. The place clears out pretty quickly (it’s only open until 11pm) but allows for lingering. Service is quick, but not too fast that you have to inhale each dish. I would try this place again, however maybe choose dishes that I know, and just enjoy the creativity that they put into it. I would also go earlier (we sat at 9pm) to let any heaviness settle better, this meal sat with me well into Sunday. I highly recommend calling early for reservations and if you’re not fussed about seating, sit at the bar for optimal kitchen viewing.

 

